Master of Science in Information Technology: Information Assurance

Professional Science Master'sThis program has been designated a Professional Science Master's Degree through the Council of Graduate Schools.

Information Assurance (INFA) Specialization

The information assurance specification provides a thorough knowledge base for managers and technology professionals concerned with the design, development, implementation, operation, and management of secure information systems and with the protection of an organization's information assets. The specialization provides students with a practical understanding of the principles of data protection, network security, and computer forensics. The specialization also introduces students to the ethical, legal, and policy issues associated with information security. Laboratory exercises are included in some courses to enhance the learning experience.

Career Path

The Master of Science program in Information Technology serves careers at the entry, mid-, or upper-level positions, depending upon the prior level of experience of the candidate.

Information Assurance

  • Chief Security Officers
  • Security Managers
  • Security Architects
  • Security Administrators
  • Security Officers
  • Security Professionals
  • Network Administrators
  • Network Professionals
  • System Administrators
  • System Professionals



Students who wish to improve their graduate writing skills may take UCSP 605, Effective Graduate Writing (0).

Core Required Courses

UCSP 615* Orientation to Graduate Studies at UMUC (0), to be taken within the first 6 credits of study

  • ITEC 610 Information Technology Foundations (3)
  • ITEC 625 Computer Systems Architecture (3)
  • ITEC 626 Information Systems Infrastructure (3)
  • ITEC 630 Information Systems Analysis, Modeling, and Design (3)
  • ITEC 640 Information Technology Project Management (3)

Core Rules

  • ITEC 610 must be taken as one of the first two courses.
  • Students must complete 6 credits of core coursework before beginning specialization coursework.

Information Assurance (INFA) Specialization Required Courses

  • INFA 610 Foundations of Information Security and Assurance (3)
  • INFA 620 Network and Internet Security (3)
  • INFA 630 Intrusion Detection and Intrusion Prevention (3)
  • INFA 640 Cryptology and Data Protection (3)
  • INFA 650 Computer Forensics (3)
  • INFA 660 The Law, Regulation and Ethics of Information Assurance (3)
Capstone Course

INFA 670 Information Assurance Capstone (3)

Specialization Rules

Courses must be taken in the order listed above.

Note: Some course titles and numbers were revised beginning with the fall 2007 semester. If you began your program prior to fall 2007 and have chosen to follow the pre-fall 2007 curriculum, please refer to the pre-fall 2007 Study Plan to determine your degree requirements.

* The UCSP 615 requirement may be waived if you previously earned a graduate degree from a regionally accredited institution. For more information, contact your academic advisor.

Request Info

Apply Now

Or call 855-655-UMUC (8682) to speak directly with an advisor.

Professional Science Master's Recognized in Washington Post

UMUC's Professional Science Master's degrees were recognized by the Washington Post for helping students pair scientific know-how with business savvy. Read the article to learn about how UMUC's capstone projects help our students stand out in the job market.

Learn More

Master of Science in Information Technology

More Information

Related Certificates

Courses of Interest

No courses have been added yet. To add a course, click on a course title, then click "add to courses of interest" below the course description.