The Maryland Cybersecurity Council was authorized on May 12, 2015, through Senate Bill 542. The council will work with the National Institute of Standards and Technology and other federal agencies to improve cybersecurity standards and practices in Maryland. The council will submit a report of its activities beginning July 1, 2017, and every two years thereafter.

Group of Maryland Cybersecurity Council Members

The council is staffed by University of Maryland University College.

Council Members

Council Chair

Brian Frosh, Maryland Attorney General

Legislative Representatives

Senator Susan C. Lee
Senator Bryan W. Simonaire
Delegate Ned Carey
Delegate Mary Ann Lisanti

Cybersecurity Companies

Belkis Leong-Hong
Founder, President, and CEO
Knowledge Advantage, Inc.

Rajan Natarajan
TechnoGen, Inc.

Jonathan Powell
Senior Program Manager
CACI, Inc.

Zuly Gonzalez
Co-Founder and CEO
Lightpoint Security

James Foster

John M. Abeles
President and CEO
System 1, Inc.

Business Associations

Don Fry
President and CEO
Greater Baltimore Committee

Joe Morales, JD
Maryland Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Brian Israel
Business Development Executive
Maryland Association of Certified Public Accountants

Higher Education

Michael Greenberger
Director, Center for Health and Homeland Security
University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

Jonathan Katz, PhD
Director, Cybersecurity Center
University of Maryland, College Park

Stewart Edelstein, PhD
Executive Director
Universities at Shady Grove

Anupam Joshi, PhD
Director, Center for Security Studies
University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Patrick O'Shea, PhD
Vice President and Chief Research Officer
University of Maryland, College Park

Anton Dahbura, PhD
Executive Director, Information Security Institute
Johns Hopkins University

Shiva Azadegan, PhD
Director, Computer Science
Towson University

David Wilson, EdD
Morgan State University

Carl Whitman
Vice President of Instructional and Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
Montgomery College

David Anyiwo, PhD
Professor and Chair, Department of Management Information Systems
Bowie State University

Crime Victim Representative

Sue Rogan
Director of Financial Education
Maryland CASH Campaign

Susceptible Industries and EHC

Joseph Haskins Jr.
Chairman, President, and CEO
Harbor Bank

Clay House
Vice President of Architecture, Planning, and Security

Peegen Townsend
Vice President of Government Affairs
Medstar Health

Jayfus Doswell, PhD
Founder, President, and CEO
The Juxtopia Group, Inc.

Kristin Jones Bryce
Vice President of External Affairs
University of Maryland Medical System

Other Designees

Robert W. Day, Sr.
Senior Security Monitoring Analyst

Cyril Draffin
Project Advisor
MIT Energy Initiative
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Howard Feldman, Esq.
Whiteford Taylor Preston

Teri Jo Hayes
Principal Consultant
Cybersecurity Strategy and Policy

Miheer Khona
President and CEO
Rising Sun Advisors

Mathew Lee
President and CEO

Larry Letow
President and CEO
Convergence Technology Consulting

Blair Levin
Nonresident Senior Fellow
Metropolitan Policy Program
Brookings Institution

Henry J. Muller, Jr.
Director of Communications
Electronics Research, Development and Engineering Center
U.S. Army, Aberdeen Proving Ground

Jonathan Prutow
Policy and Planning Business Analyst
Macro Solutions

Markus Rauschecker, Esq.
Cybersecurity Program Manager
Center for Health and Homeland Security
University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

Christine Ross
President and CEO
Maryland Chamber of Commerce

Stacey Smith
Executive Director
Cybersecurity Association of Maryland

Paul Tiao, Esq.
Hunton & Williams

Federal Institutions

Judith Emmel
Associate Director for State, Local, and Community Relations
National Security Agency

Donna Dodson
Director, National Cybersecurity Center of Excellence
National Institute of Standards and Technology

State Institutions

Mike Leahy
Acting Secretary
Maryland Department of Information Technology

Col. William Pallozzi
Secretary of State Police
Maryland State Police

Ken McCreedy
Senior Director, Aerospace and Cybersecurity
Maryland Department of Commerce

Major General (MG) Linda Singh
Adjutant General of Maryland
Maryland Military Department

Walter London
Governor's Office of Homeland Security

David Engel
Maryland Coordination and Analysis Center

Russell Strickland
Maryland Emergency Management Agency

Ronald Kaese
Director of Federal Programs

Tami Howell
Maryland Tech Council

Anthony Lisuzzo
Board Member
Army Alliance

Steven Tiller
Fort Meade Alliance

Meetings and Reports

Subcommittee Meetings of the Maryland Cybersecurity Council

December 14, 2017


October 20, 2017


October 19, 2017


October 18, 2017


October 16, 2017


October 6, 2017


April 24, 2017

Reports of the Maryland Cybersecurity Council

Related Reports from the Office of the Maryland Attorney General

Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence Archive

In July 2011, the Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence was authorized. The commission was charged with conducting an overview of federal and state cyber security laws and policies. It considered Maryland's role in promoting cyber innovation and recommended strategies for cyber security innovation and excellence, including recovery from cyber attack.

The commission also recommended ways to attract private investment, and promote innovation through public and private partnerships, research and development, workforce training, and education. The commission submitted reports of interim findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly by January 1, 2012, and final findings and recommendations by September 1, 2014. The commission ended on December 31, 2014.

Read more about the Maryland Commission on Cybersecurity Innovation and Excellence in the UMUC Library's Digital Repository.