Cybersecurity Program Advisory Board

The UMUC Cybersecurity Program Advisory Board consists of distinguished leaders who have served in executive-level national security roles in the U.S. Armed Services and the Executive Branch of the federal government. Board members also include executives whose careers have been in the private sector, particularly in information technology.

Formed in 2009, the advisory board counsels the university strategically on national needs in cybersecurity and informs the development of academic programs that are responsive to those needs.

Advisory Board Members

  • Lieutenant General John Campbell (USAF, Ret.)
    Chairman, Government Advisory Board, Iridium Communications, Inc.
  • Mark J. Gerencser
    Executive Vice President, Commercial Business, Booz Allen Hamilton Inc.
  • Melissa E. Hathaway
    President, Hathaway Global Strategies, LLC; Senior Advisor, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, John F. Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University
  • Rear Admiral Elizabeth A. Hight (USN, Ret.)
    Vice President, U.S. Public Sector Cybersecurity Practice, HP Enterprise Services
  • Catherine Kuenzel '99
    UMUC Distinguished Alumna
  • Robert F. Lentz
    President and CEO, Cyber Security Strategies
  • Vice Admiral J. Michael (Mike) McConnell (USN, Ret.),
    Vice Chairman, Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.
  • James F. X. Payne
    President, Public Sector, Z&A Infotek, Inc.
  • Lieutenant General Harry D. Raduege Jr. (USAF, Ret.),
    Chairman, Deloitte Center for Cyber Innovation
  • Marcus H. Sachs
    Vice President, National Security Policy, Verizon Communications
  • John N. Stewart
    Senior Vice President and Chief Security Officer, Cisco Systems, Inc.
  • L. William (Bill) Varner
    President and COO, ManTech’s Mission, Cyber and Intelligence Solutions Group, ManTech International Corporation