CTLA 201 Wins Prestigious Sloan-C Award

Faculty Development is pleased to announce that the CTLA 201, Teaching with WebTycho Training Course is the winner of the prestigious Sloan-C 2006 Excellence in Faculty Development for Online Teaching Award.

UMUC is a member of the Sloan-C Consortium, which comprises more than 1,000 institutions and organizations of higher education supporting 800 online programs dedicated to the delivery and promotion of online learning. Members of the consortium are accredited institutions of higher education offering associate, undergraduate, and graduate degree programs, as well as credit and non-credit certificates and corporate training, over the Internet.

The award recognizes the institution that offers the most outstanding faculty development program for those who teach in the online environment. UMUC's Teaching with WebTycho faculty training course was chosen from a field of national entrants for its proven record of excellence as demonstrated by its success in training new faculty to become competent online instructors in a cost-effective manner. This training program helps to ensure that students around the world will receive a quality higher education experience and aids in both student and faculty satisfaction.

CTLA 201, Teaching with WebTycho Training Course is five-week training course in online teaching, delivered completely online via UMUC's proprietary course management software, WebTycho. Required for all UMUC faculty who teach online, the training course features original content, emphasizes practical application, and covers online teaching in its pedagogical, design, and technical aspects. Each section of the training course is facilitated by an experienced UMUC faculty member who models effective online teaching, and the course itself is a model for online course design. Each section of the course averages 20 participants, allowing for optimal interaction, while the asynchronous nature of the course provides ample flexibility for busy faculty.

See the Sloan-C's Web site for the announcement of the award.